I will not be going to Carcassonne today. Yeah I know, I’m bummed about it too! I was looking forward to doing something fun this weekend! However the Wind Gods decided to mess with my plans. This morning I woke up to 25-35 mph winds (according to weather.com anyways) pounding the sides of the apartment. And of course my room just happens to overlook the street and not the courtyard so I get the brunt of the wind’s force.

After receiving one of those daily news updates I get on my cell phone (which I didn’t sign up for but is kind of useful), I learned about 500,000 homes had lost power in the Aquitaine region and there was a weather advisory in effect and for everybody to stay home. One of my windows ended up blowing open twice (and yest it was locked both times). The second time, the lock part that secures the window broke off so I had to close the shutters on the outside to keep the window from blowing open again. I feel like I’m living in a cave. I also learned the train service into Toulouse had been “interrupted” and I didn’t feel like waiting around to really know what that meant.

So I opted for not going to Carcassonne which my host mother heartily approved of. Hopefully next weekend it will be nicer or at least less windy. I got a full refund on my train tickets which was nice but I probably should have just switched them to next Saturday. Oh well, I don’t live too far from an SNCF office so it’s not like I’m going out of my way to buy train tickets each time I want to travel.

And wow, 2 updates in 2 days that’s got to be a record haha.

So that’s all the news for today. Have a good weekend!

Amelie

PS. I just noticed I have a follower!! That makes me feel like I’m the leader of some kind of cult or something. But now I see what Jamie (the girl living at Paqui’s house now) meant when she was asking about how you become a “follower” of a blog. I became a follower of Jamie’s blog but I’m not too sure where it lists the blogs I follow… so I’ve just saved it to my favorites to make it easier to find.

PPS. The French version of Cifras y Letras (Des Chiffres et Des Lettres en francais) sucks!!!! It’s soooooo boring. I miss the Andalucian tv presenters!

PPPS. So I think I mentioned somewhere about Carlisle being sketchy. Well I just got this email from Campus Security: Carlisle Police have been investigating the death of a 45 year old woman who was found near the rear of the Carlisle Theater early this morning. They have now determined this death was a homicide, and there is information that suggests the victim visted Fast Eddies’ and the Gingerbread Man last night. We encourage all members of our community to take appropriate precautions for their personal safety. Detailed information regarding this incident may be found in a press release from the Mayor of Carlisle which has been sent to all Dickinson e-mail accounts.

What horrible news! Fast Eddies is a short walk from the academic quad. The G Man (Gingerbread Man but commonly referred to as G Man by us college kids) is about a 10 minute walk away. I have been to the Carlisle Theater several times to watch movies and the like. Well I guess I won’t be visiting any Carlisle bars my senior year.