Wow wow wow.

In a little more than a week, I will be graduating.

I don’t really know what to think.  It’s bittersweet.

Part of me is really looking forward to whatever is coming next.  In my case, after this summer, that will be SPAIN! But a large part of me is trying to deny that I am leaving college behind.  All the friends I’ve made, the people I’ve met, the classes I’ve taken, the professors that have taught me, the beautiful campus, my experiences abroad, the extra curriculars that I joined (notably Theta, Dream Catchers, and Up til Dawn)… even Carlisle’s sketchiness has a certain charm to it.  All of that is coming to an end May 23rd.

I will definitely keep in touch with the wonderful friends I have met here.  I can’t thank them enough for taking the time out to get to know me because I know I am not the easiest person to become friends with.  I have always had a hard time making friends so the fact that I am leaving college and knowing that I am friends with people I only met about 2-3 years ago astonishes me.  It’s weird how close I’ve become to some of these people in such a short amount of time.  Friends, if you are reading this, please keep in touch!!!! I love you all and you mean more to me than I can put into words.

College has taught me a lot but it’s sort of hard to pinpoint what exactly.  I’m definitely not the same person I was when I first stepped foot on this campus.  Actually… yeah I was maybe in middle school the first time I came to Dickinson or at least 9th grade. (Hermana did the CPYB summer program for 3 summers which is how we found out about the school) Ask me in 10 years and maybe I will be able to say how I’ve changed and what I learned!

I don’t know if college really prepares us for the real world.  I think there’s a whole lot that I need to learn once I really get out there.  We tend to live in the bubble inhabited by our school community because classes and homework take up our lives.  I realize work will be an important part of my life when I finally go out there and get a real job.  So maybe I learned some kind of work ethics… and that pulling all nighters is not such a good idea.  Hopefully my future job doesn’t involve writing papers.  Unfortunately, it seems paper writing will continue next year.  Oh well…

I wish college had classes on things that would prepare me for the real world.  Such as teaching me what a mortgage is and why it’s so important, why paying/filing taxes is so important, and how to pay bills.  I loved most of the classes I took here over 3.5 years but sometimes I wondered how reading a bunch of Spanish plays and analyzing them would prepare me for a “life beyond the limestone” (totally Dickinson’s expression, not mine).  I guess college is really the one time you can take classes in subjects you otherwise would not get to pursue in real life.  However I have to say I do regret taking Ceramics sophomore year, that seriously messed up my GPA… at least I can scratch off ceramicist off the list of potential careers.

I suppose I could reflect more about my time here at Dickinson but I don’t really know what else to say.  I have to say college was WAY better than high school.  Whoever said college were some of the best years of your life wasn’t lying.  And I think I’ll just leave it that.

So besides all my college friends and professors (most of you anyways… yes even you scary seminar prof) that I’d like to thank for being so awesome, I would also like to thank Mom and Papa’s bank account for financing my education and for being so supportive and awesome too.

Oh and the professors who wrote me recommendations for grad school get extra gold stars.  I have no idea what you guys said but it convinced NYU in Madrid to accept me.  Oh and Simmons.  I might have forgotten to mention that…

And now completely switching gears….

Hermana and I are French citizens.  As French citizens, we found out we were required to go to “La Journee d’Appel de preparation a la defense” aka a presentation about the French army.  It is just about as exciting as it sounds.  I actually went home to attend this since I was abroad last year (ironically in France where I could have done it) and didn’t go.  So like good little French citizens, we journeyed to the Upper East Side of Manhattan to the Lycee Francais where the thing took place.

I have heard the name Lycee Francais ever since I was little because I also attended a bilingual French-English school from k-8th.  But I had never actually seen the school in person so it was kind of exciting to be in it after hearing so much about it.  In fact, Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt sent their oldest son Maddox there for a few weeks while Brad or Angelina (can’t remember which) was in town shooting some movie a few years back.

When we got there, it was so chaotic and packed.  All these young Lycee Francais high schoolers were lined up and checking in before making their way into the auditorium for the Journee d’Appel.  I have to say I am really glad Hermana was there even though I felt bad her for because it was her birthday.  No way I would have wanted to be standing in line in the midst of rowdy fashionable high school kids.  The school does have a strict dress code but I swear all those kids were so well dressed to begin with!

So we sat down and listened to two retired French army people in their fancy uniforms drone on about different aspects of French army life and the European Union and the environment… I’m not too sure what exactly, the DVD they were using to supplement the presentation kept freezing and kept having to be reset.  I don’t know if it was because it was a French DVD being played in an American DVD player or that the two guys didn’t understand how to work a DVD player.  They were kind of old and part of the generation that grew up without DVD players… Anyways as you can imagine everybody got super antsy and kept leaving the auditorium for half an hour at the time.  No idea where the students went but I didn’t blame them.  Most boring and tedious afternoon of my life… colossal waste of time.  I don’t want to say the French army is a joke but la Journee d’Appel definitely is.
The two army guys kept asking really vague and open ended questions and passed around microphones in the crowd so students could answer.  Obviously no one willingly volunteered.  At one point the microphone ended up in my hands and I was like “Uhhhh I don’t think so” and dumped it into the boy’s lap next to me.

Hermana and I were some of the oldest people sitting in the crowd because most French teens do it once they turn 16.  However we became citizens after that age but before the age of 26, so we had to go.  I don’t understand the logic behind this weird tradition but apparently it is super important for French citizens to learn about the army.  It would probably be more helpful to have a day about the Art of Protesting in my opinion.

So that’s about it! Graduation is May 23rd and I no longer need to worry about being drafted into the French army.  La vie est belle.

I leave you with some Cute Overload videos: a dog using a turtle as a means of transportation: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyXrSJpQ_tk&feature=player_embedded , a man being attacked by several 6 week old golden retriever puppies http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tAchiUjdBJw&feature=player_embedded , and finally Viral Video Film School’s Brett Erlich talking about cute puppies: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yg4aNiO1JnI&playnext_from=TL&videos=63Zh4t1IYBs

Ah-may-lee