If you’re like me at all, you enjoy reading other people’s travel blogs. Not only is it fun to read about and see pictures of other people’s adventures, but I learn a lot from the way other people set up their travel blogs. A couple of years ago, I stumbled across Gary Ardnt’s “Everything Everywhere” travel blog. You may have already heard of him because he is pretty well-established in the travel blogosphere. I still think he has one of the best travel blogs around.

The guy is so established that he has managed to get sponsors that send him to certain locations for free. I think that’s when you know you’ve had it made as a travel blogger; when companies are contacting you and asking you to go on their trips for free so that in return you’ll write about it.

Anyways Gary has been traveling since 2007 and has hit up so many places, I doubt I will be able to see even half of what he’s done in my lifetime. In 2010 he finally visited Spain and recently he published a “7 Wonders of Spain” list! Here is the link to his post if you would like to read it there: http://everything-everywhere.com/2012/04/08/the-seven-wonders-of-spain/

However I’ll just rewrite the list here:

  1. the Alhambra in Granada
  2. Sagrada Familia in Barcelona
  3. City of Arts and Sciences in Valencia
  4. Mt. Teide in Tenerife (Canary Islands)–also the highest peak in Spain
  5. Santiago de Compostela Cathedral in Galicia
  6. Roman aqueduct in Segovia
  7. the Mosque (which is technically now a cathedral but nobody refers to it as such) in Cordoba

Out of the 7 places here, I’ve never been to the Canary Islands or Valencia but I think 5 out of 7 is not bad. I’ve also been to most of the “Honorable Mentions” on the list: the Royal Palace in Madrid, the Bilbao Guggenheim Museum, the Reina Sofia museum, El Torcal in Antequera. Never been to the Balearic Islands or the Altamira cave, which funnily enough I had never heard about until I saw the exhibit in the Deutsches Museum in Munich–so I guess the museum taught me something new even though I didn’t like it!

I agree with most of the list–it’s impossible not to include the Alhambra on any “7 Wonders of Spain” list. I’ve been twice myself and honestly, it’s one of those places in Spain you should not miss. However I think the Old City in Salamanca deserves a place on it or some honorable mention. I’ve been twice now and I know for me, it is definitely one of the most beautiful places I’ve been to in Spain.

Also slightly hilarious for me is the complete omission of Sevilla (and I can’t remember if Gary has been or not). I lived with an American last year who was obsessed with this city and would not shut up about it–to the point I got really turned off by the city simply because I was forced to hear so much about it (which I suppose isn’t fair, but oh well). I’ve been to Sevilla a few times and while I liked it, it’s not one of my favorite places in Spain. Good to see Gary and the people who helped him compile the list agree with me!

Do you have any “7 wonders” list of any country you’ve visited?

