Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there! But especially to my own mother. I actually got to see my parents last weekend when I went to a wedding in France. It was a very short visit–I got there Saturday morning and I took a flight back to Madrid Sunday night. But it was so good to see them (hadn’t seen them since Christmas) and it will tide me over to this summer when I will see them in France in August. And of course it was great seeing my French family, especially my cousin who got married.

It was actually Mother’s Day last Sunday in Spain, so I ended up giving my mother a very simple card with a poem written in Spanish in it–the very same card my second graders gave to their mothers. Despite it being written in Spanish, my mother was able to understand it because she knows how to speak French. So I didn’t need to translate! My mother is so smart.

A couple of years ago I wrote a post dedicated to my mom here for Mother’s Day when I was studying abroad in Toulouse. Everything I wrote that day still applies today. If any of you were to meet my mother, you’d all love her! All of my friends who have met her have liked her. She is just such a bubbly person and puts everyone at ease around her–I unfortunately did not inherit this part of her. I could go on and on about her and all the wonderful things she has done for me over the past 24 years of my life. I don’t think I could have done half the things I have accomplished if it weren’t for her encouragement and her strength.

Especially over the past 2 years that I have been living in Spain–there have some low lows and some high highs. Throughout it all, my mother has been there every step of the way offering support and advice (mostly over Skype)! A huge thank you Mom! I love you!

And while I’m not about to post a picture of my mother (I don’t need to ask her this but I know she prefers to remain anonymous on this blog), here are some pictures of the region of France where the wedding took place (no wedding pictures of people either, sorry! But I can assure you the bride was beautiful!). We were in the Beaujolais region, where the bride is originally from. This region of France is famous for the Beaujolais wine, which was also served at the wedding reception.

My parents and I took a walk (and were most likely trespassing) in the surrounding vineyards around the wedding reception venue. It’s such a stark contrast to Spain’s arid and dry landscape!

    

    

    

   

haha parents! I got you!

And since I am feeling so generous, here are some pictures of the wedding venue and a picture of the bride’s pretty blue shoes:

   

This is a reference to a French tv show. The bride and the groom both work in the tv industry in France so each table had a French tv program as a name.

    

    

For dessert, we had a choice of creme brulee, fruit in cups, macarons (the different colored round cookies), and two cakes. It was such a nice change from the overly fancy American wedding cakes. Understated and simple–I think I want something like this at my wedding, whenever that occurs!

And it turns out it was my father who provided the American candy hearts. They are sold everywhere in stores around Valentine’s Day and my cousin specifically requested them for his wedding, and my father obliged. My French cousins spotted them on the tables and picked them up, commenting that they were awesome and had never seen them before. I was unaware that my father had provided them and had to explain what they were. Turns out they aren’t sold in France! So the wedding had a light American touch!