The catchy song “Call Me Maybe” sung by newly emerging singer Carly Rae Jepsen has recently been everywhere. Fellow Canadian Justin Bieber heard one of her demos and decided to sign her to his record label. I was surprised to discover Jepsen is actually older than me–she dresses in clothes that make her look a lot younger than she looks. And honestly “Call Me Maybe” is a song I would expect someone from the Disney Channel to sing–like Selena Gomez for example (also Justin Bieber’s current girlfriend). If you have no idea who these people are, it’s okay. I’m slightly obsessed with celebrity gossip so I keep up with what many consider “fluffy, non-serious news.”

A group of teachers at the high school I graduated from decided to have fun with the song and got together to make a music video, sending off the current senior class of 2012. It features a lot of hilarious dancing and lip synching as they wander around the various hallways of the school. It made me smile and I decided to share it here on my blog. Even if you didn’t go to high school here, it’s always nice seeing teachers let loose–they are clearly having fun and this must have been a nice change of pace from their regular work day. I realize I’m also revealing my hometown by posting this but I decided I don’t care that much anymore.

The video also made me realize how awesome American high schools can be. We may not have the best education system in the world but at least our teachers know how to have fun. And this also made me feel really old–it’s been 2 years since I graduated from college and now nearly 6 years since I’ve been out of high school. Time sure flies by fast!

Without further ado, I present to you some of the teachers of the Rye High School faculty dancing to “Call Me Maybe”:

Just want to point out the guy at 2:10 was my former creative writing teacher. That guy is obsessed with Stephen King! Never expected to see him do something like this!