At this point, my Semana Santa trip seems like it happened such a long time ago! Again I keep apologizing for the delays… hopefully I can get through the rest of it this weekend. This will be my last post about Salzburg (yes I know another one but it’s the LAST one I swear!).

One of the last things my friends and I did in Salzburg was visit the Hohensalzburg Fortress. This white fortress sits atop a hill overlooking the Old City section of Salzburg. Construction began in 1077–which just blows my mind that a structure on this hill existed as far back as 1000 years ago. As far as I know, there isn’t anything man-made that is remotely close to 1000 years old back in the USA. The Prince-Archbishop used to live here. Again, I don’t know what a Prince-Archbishop is. How can you be a member of the clergy and be considered royal? Isn’t that a conflict of interest?

In the early 20th century, the fortress was used as a prison for Italian prisoners during WWI and Nazi activists.

For some interior shots of the fortress you can go here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hohensalzburg_Fortress

I didn’t take many pictures of the actual fortress while I was up there. Instead, I took a gazillion pictures of the surrounding view. I never got to see the sun in Salzburg, but the view was still magnificent. I am definitely coming back here one day!

    

    

The house in the middle used to be the executioner’s house! Our Sound of Music tour guide told us nobody wanted to live by him!

    

Around the fortress:

these stoves back in the day were used to heat rooms in Germany and Austria.

     

    

goulash I had for lunch at the fortress’s restaurant (originally a Hungarian dish)

Afterwards we split up again. Nicole and Sarah went off to visit the birthplace of Mozart. I had no interest in going there so I decided to go off to the catacombs. I probably could have skipped the catacombs–but I got some nice pictures of the cemetery again.

    

And while I didn’t go visit Mozart’s birthplace, I did pass by it:

We also walked up to Nonnberg Abbey, the abbey where the real Maria Von Trapp worked and lived at one point. Scenes from the movie were not filmed here though. I also went photo crazy with the view again

    

And finally, we left the Old City by crossing the Mozart footbridge… and you got it, also featured in the Sound of Music:

   

One last look at Salzburg and the Salzach River:

   

Despite the dreadful weather, I loved Salzburg. I think it rates as one of my favorite places to visit in Europe.