Well dang. If I had known so many people were wine aficionados on WordPress, I would have written about wine a long time ago! Either that or you guys just really like reading about traveling cliches, which is fine in my book because I do too! So many of you liked the post just seconds after it went live. Reminder to self: partake in traveling cliches more often such as drinking wine in France and visiting vineyards!

Okay on to the small town of Chateau Neuf du Pape and Gigondas.

After we visited Chateau La Nerthewe visited downtown Chateau Neuf du Pape and the old castle ruins. There isn’t much left of the castle ruins and I think it was one of the castles owned by the popes during the Avignon papacy. While the ruins are interesting, the surrounding view comprised of vineyards, trees, and red tiled roofs was just so rustic and bucolic looking. So not only is Chateau Neuf du Pape renown for its wine, it has got the lovely scenery that goes along with it.

(Disclaimer: the last 6 pictures were taken by my uncle so there are some bonus Chateau La Nerthe pictures including an awesome one of grapes!)

 

We then had lunch in Gigondas in a restaurant called Du Verre a l’Assiette (From the Glass to the Plate). The restaurant was super cute and I had the most amazing tartine! My father was really looking forward to this town because he is a huge fan of Gigondas wine. It is considered to be almost on par with Chateau Neuf du Pape. We had more wine with lunch, walked around the downtown for a bit, then went into a wine store and sampled even more wine. Needless to say, by the end of the day, I was feeling a little sick to my stomach from drinking so much wine! I have to say I have so much more respect for anyone who works in the wine business. Oenology is no joke! (I learned this word thanks to my father who is currently taking a wine certificate course at the moment. In fact, he is there right now as I type).

 

 

The rest are Uncle Marc’s pictures:

And that’s it for the Provence wine tour! Hope you enjoyed it!