Today is a dark day.

I wrote a post after the Aurora, CO shooting which you can read here. I summed up how I felt about the tragedy and shootings in general, so I’m not going to rehash it all over again. Feel free to read it if you’d like.

I live only about an hour away from Newtown, Connecticut. I just spoke with my father on the phone and he told me he has a coworker whose nephew attends the school. There really isn’t much to say at this point. A guy walked into a school and opened fire on defenseless, innocent children.

I don’t even want to hear the ridiculous argument, “Guns don’t kill people. People do.”

Tell that to the parents who lost a son or daughter today or whose life is hanging in the balance. Tell that to the relatives and friends who lost someone at that school today.

There will be an outpouring of support and love for this community. Gun control laws will be debated in the media and by politicians. Obama will most likely go visit Newtown and talk with survivors and with the victims’ families. And then, the event will fade from the spotlight as more news comes our way. Life goes on. It may be harsh, but that is the way of the world.

This poster perfectly sums up my feelings.

45344_468381919894996_1928660211_n

It says in Spanish “I’m not scared of the world ending in 2012. I’m worried it will continue to be the same.” I have to add that I got this from Universitario Informado‘s Facebook page, some kind of organization that has ties to universities in Chile.

When you think about the cyclical nature of these school shootings, it does give you pause. Or am I the only one who feels this way?