Like Les Baux de Provence and Gordes, the village of Saint-Suliac is classified as one of the official “plus beaux villages de France” (most beautiful villages of France). As usual, I agree with the association’s inclusion of this village. I’m starting to believe you really can’t go wrong in any of the plus beaux villages–I’ve loved all three that I’ve visited so far.

About a half hour southwest from our base Cancale, Saint-Suliac is a fishing village located on the banks of the Rance estuary/river. All the houses and narrow streets of Saint-Suliac face the harbor, much like the buildings in Cancale face the Bay of Mont-Saint-Michel. If you looked up the word “adorable” in the dictionary, you would probably find a picture of Saint-Suliac.

DSCN2996 DSCN2997 DSCN3000 DSCN3001DSCN2972 DSCN2973

Saint-Suliac’s small size made it the ideal place for my grandparents to walk around and admire the fish net-covered buildings. Some people may find that last detail a bit cheesy since it is clearly one of those things that was added to attract tourists (people don’t just randomly throw fish nets on their houses for fun), but you know what, sometimes it is okay to embrace the cheesiness factor. Sometimes touristy cheesiness is a good thing. I say this is one of those times! Think of it as taking a picture of yourself in those bright red phone booths in London or walking like an Egyptian in front of the pyramids in Egypt–it is hokey and stupid, but also lots of fun! That’s how I felt about the fish nets–cliche, yes. Unnecessarily adorable? YES!

DSCN2978 DSCN2979                                                   DSCN2980 DSCN2981

Down by the church (the guy in the light blue shirt is my dad!):

DSCN2982 DSCN2983 DSCN2984 DSCN2985 DSCN2986

Unintentional National Geographic moment:

DSCN2988

The fish nets were adorable, but I thought the shutters on the houses were cute as well. In fact, the entire village reminded me of the opening scene in Beauty and the Beast in which Belle sings the opening song “Belle” (where everybody says Bonjour to her) in which she starts off with “Little town, in a quiet village…” (If you would like to watch the song, click here. It is one of my favorite Disney movies.) 

DSCN2989 DSCN2990                                                DSCN2991 DSCN2993                                                   DSCN2995

Do you think Saint-Suliac deserves to be a plus beau village de France?

I know I do!