I’ve been reluctant to write this post, mostly because this is the very last post chronicling my trip to France last August. I can’t believe that was already six months ago! I’ve had so much fun writing these posts and I hope you guys have enjoyed reading them.

Our very last stop of our Brittany-Normandy road trip was a visit to the village of Beuvron-en-Auge, another one of the plus beaux villages de France (you can see the village’s page in English on the Les Plus Beaux Villages de France website here). Beuvron-en-Auge is situated in the department of Calvados in Lower Normandy. My father had made a lunch reservation at the Pavé d’Auge, a Michelin rated one star restaurant. I know that in the restaurant world Michelin stars are very prestigious and to earn a single star is a cause for huge celebration among restaurant owners.

The restaurant from the outside:

beuvron en auge sylviedjinn14 flickr

(Photo credit: user SylvieDjinn14 on Flickr)

The Pavé d’Auge is housed in the former halles of the village, or what used to be the covered marketplace smack dab in the center of the main square. I took a look at the restaurant’s menu on its website (available in English and in French) but it seems it has changed since I was there in August. I can’t remember what I ate and I only took pictures of the desserts. It was a fancy enough restaurant that I felt rude taking pictures of my meal. My father also ended up picking up the tab for the entire meal which counted six people (my aunt and uncle also joined us for lunch)–merci Papa! 🙂

So here we’ve got some macarons, creme brulee (or that’s what it looks like), strawberries, a fruity flavored ice cream, and what look like madeleines (the muffin looking pastries in the third picture). Just looking at these pictures makes me hungry. There is no beating a French dessert–cupcakes included (and I love cupcakes).

DSCN3111  DSCN3112

DSCN3113

After a hearty lunch, we strolled around the village’s main streets and walked into a few stores. For such a small village, there seemed to be an inordinate amount of thrift shops. I thought it was unusual to have so many in a tiny hamlet in the middle of nowhere in Normandy!

A typical Normandy style manor house:

Beuvron_en_Auge_Manoir_-wikipedia japan

(Photo credit: Wikipedia Japan)

The buildings in Beuvron-en-Auge were mostly timber frame houses dating from the 17th and 18th century or as they are called in French “les maisons  à colombage.” This style of architecture is very common in Normandy but it can be found all over France and in several countries in Europe.

DSCN3114  DSCN3115

DSCN3116  DSCN3117

DSCN3120 beuvron en auge-patrick henry

beuvron_en_auge-gite-normand-fr

(Photo credits to last two pictures: 1. Patrick Henry 2. www.gite-normand.info)

We ended our visit in an art gallery which solely displayed artwork featuring horses.

“The horse is my passion, movement is my expression.”

DSCN3121

I love horses and I used to horseback ride when I was younger but even I thought the paintings were a little… er, excessive?

At any rate, Beuvron-en-Auge was another lovely plus beau village. And so my French summer adventures come to an end, for now.

However, I still plan on blogging about languages, travel, and the like so watch this space. 🙂

